• Text Colour:
  • C
  • C
  • C
  • C
  • Text Size: A A A

Mayor of Derry City and Strabane District Council

Councillor Maolíosa McHugh, Mayor of Derry City and Strabane District Council, June 2017-June 2018.

I am honoured to be elected First Citizen of the Derry City and Strabane District Council area at the Council AGM on 05 June 2017 and look forward to provide inclusive leadership for all.

I pledge to be a Mayor for all, to be inclusive, providing civic leadership and support to the community, from The Derg to Sperrin and from Tullywhisker to Tullyally. I seek to promote respect, inclusive politics and equality.

My key objectives for my Mayoral year are Investment, Infrastructure, Jobs, Youth opportunities and challenges, Inclusivity and the Irish Language.

Brexit is a key challenge for us and I am committed to working with our neighbours in Donegal County Council area to develop our strong bonds to work together to mitigate the impact of Brexit.

During my time as Mayor I will work tirelessly to attract investment and welcome the opportunity to meet with trade delegations, potential investors and others to promote the city and district.

Contact details

Mayor’s Office
Derry City and Strabane District Council
98 Strand Road
BT48 7NN
Direct Line: (028) 7137 6508
Switchboard: (028) 71 253 253
Email: [email protected]