Derry City & Strabane - Mayor extends best wishes on UK City of Culture bid




  • Text Colour:
  • C
  • C
  • C
  • C
  • Text Size: A A A

Mayor extends best wishes on UK City of Culture bid

08 October 2021
The Mayor of Derry City and Strabane District, Alderman Graham Warke, today extended his congratulations on behalf of the City and District to Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council on being shortlisted in the competition to become UK City of Culture 2025.
Alderman Warke was responding to the news announced today, urging everyone to rally to lend their support to the bid and take them through to the final stage of the competition.
Speaking after the announcement, he said that a successful campaign would bring immense benefits to the Council area, both in terms of the local economy and the promotion of arts and culture across the region.
"Derry-Londonderry hosted the inaugural UK City of Culture in 2013 and not only was that an incredible year in itself with in excess of 1m visitors, but we continue to reap many benefits generated by the title. City of Culture 2013 set out to provide a platform where culture belongs to everyone and this successful approach is clearly visible in many aspects of our City and District today.
"We were showcased on an international stage and this established the foundations for new partnerships and economic opportunities. In 2013 we were ranked fourth best place to visit in the world by the Lonely Planet Guide and have been nominated for many prestigious awards since. We are delighted that DCSDC has recently been recognised as the top remote working location in NI and also in the Top 5 list for UK.
"I would also like to take this opportunity to congratulate Sir Phil Redmond, who has been an exceptional champion for culture, convincing the Department for Digital Culture Media and Sport of the importance of the UK City of Culture Competition. Liverpool City Council offered us great support during their bidding process and as part of our legacy we too have been there for other shortlisted cities to offer insight and learning."
Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon join Bradford, Cornwall, County Durham, Derby, Southampton, Stirling and Wrexham County Borough, in the final eight locations vying for the title.