• Text Colour:
  • C
  • C
  • C
  • C
  • Text Size: A A A

Mayor officially announces Arts and Culture Strategy Design Group

04 July 2019

Mayor of Derry City and Strabane District Council, Councillor Michaela Boyle, has officially announced the identity of the new Co-Delivery Design group who have been appointed to oversee the implementation of its new Arts and Culture Strategy (2019-2024) for the City and District.

The strategy will complement Council’s recently released Tourism Strategy and Integrated Economic Development Strategy, bringing the development of Council services in line with the outcomes identified within the Strategic Growth Plan for the area.

The group will oversee the delivery of a strategy with members having specific responsibility for one of six aims.

The aims are to engage citizens and grow audiences, deliver a high quality arts programme, implement an effective and ambitious marketing campaign, invest in the potential of our creative sector, strengthening the cultural infrastructure of the region while growing employment opportunities and demonstrate and communicate the difference that our community makes.

Mayor Boyle thanked the group members for their input and wished them well as they begin the process of delivery and implementation of the strategy.

“Congratulations to the Co-Delivery Design group on their appointment and the very best of luck to them in the area of the Arts and Culture Strategy they have been selected to oversee,” she said.

“The strategy is another strand of the comprehensive and ambitious vision for the City and District through the over-arching Strategic Growth Plan and aims to enhance wellbeing through accessible cultural experiences and the arts.

“I am sure the unique and industry specific skills that the group members have will allow them to make a significant impact on the delivery of this visionary new strategy.”

In addition to inviting relevant statutory and support agencies this advisory group will include Derry City and Strabane District Council elected Members on a cross party basis as well as Council Officers. The group will meet four times per annum as well as deliver an open annual meeting to review the strategy, discuss progress and consider ongoing process implementation. 

 The full list of selected nominees are: Cath McBride, Eibhlín Ní Dhochartaigh, Stephen Batts, Catherine Hemelryk, Edel MacBride, Lisa Heaney, Derek Moore, Rachel Melaugh, Fiona Umetsu, Pauline Gardiner, Anne McMaster, James Kee and Tommy Barr.

To find out more about the Arts and Strategy and the Co-Delivery group visit www.derrystrabane.com/artsandculture.