Derry City & Strabane -  Policing and Community Safety Partnership




  • Text Colour:
  • C
  • C
  • C
  • C
  • Text Size: A A A

Policing and Community Safety Partnership

Policing and Community Safety Partnership (PCSP) aimS to make our community safer.  

The PCSP is a statutory body established under the Justice Act (Northern Ireland) 2011. It brings together, in one partnership, the functions and responsibilities of District Policing Partnerships (DPPs) and Community Safety Partnerships (CSPs), building on the most useful and effective aspects of each, while operating in a more streamlined and joined up way.
The PCSP is funded jointly by the Department of Justice and the Northern Ireland Policing Board.
There are 11 partnerships, one for each council area.  Each PCSP has a Policing Committee to take forward specific police monitoring and engagement functions, with the wider PCSP taking forward community safety related functions.

PCSP may also establish Delivery Groups to address particular community safety issues that arise in their areas.

What PCSPs Do - What PCSP Does

PCSP aims to make our community safer by focussing on the policing and community safety issues that matter most in each local council area.

In making communities safer,  PCSP will:

  • Consult and engage with the local community on the issues of concern in relation to policing and community safety.  The Policing Committee has a responsibility to provide views to the relevant District Commander and the Policing Board on policing matters.
  • Identify and prioritise the particular issues of concern and prepare plans for how these can be tackled.
  • Monitor – A Policing Committee comprising the local political and independent members will monitor the performance of the police and work to gain the co-operation of the public with the police in preventing crime.
  • Deliver a reduction in crime and enhance community safety in their district, directly through their own actions, through the work of their delivery groups or through support for the work of others.

PCSP Members

The size of each PCSP varies across Northern Ireland.  Derry and Strabane PCSP has ten political members who are nominated by Council and nine independent members who will be appointed by the Northern Ireland Policing Board in June 2015. Together these members form the Policing Committee of the PCSP.
In addition, the PCSP will have representatives from a number of designated organisations including Northern Ireland Fire and Rescue Service (NIFRS), Northern Ireland Housing Executive (NIHE), Police Service for Northern Ireland (PSNI), Probation Board for Northern Ireland (PBNI), Education Authority NI (EANI), Western Health and Social Care Trust (WHSCT) and Youth Justice Agency (YJA).

The Chair of the PCSP is a councillor and the Vice Chair is an independent member.







PCSP Meeting Minutes 22/02/2022

PCSP Meeting Minutes 25/01/2022

PCSP Meeting Minutes 30/11/2021

PCSP Meeting Minutes 26/10/2021


PCSP Meeting Minutes 28/09/2021

PCSP PC Meeting 27/07/2021

PCSP Meeting Minutes 29/06/2021

PCSP Meeting Minutes 25/05/2021

PCSP Annual Report 2020/21

PCSP PC Meeting 27-04-21

PCSP Funding Recommendation 2021-22

Derry & Strabane PCSP 2021-22 Action Plan

PCSP Meeting Minutes 30-03-2021


PCSP Strategic Assessment 2019-22 (Updated 2020) 

 previous reports 

PCSP Annual Report 2018/2019

PCSP Strategic Assessment 2019-2022

Derry Strabane PCSP 202021 Action Plan

PCSP Funding-Recommendation 2019/20



Contact Details

For further information please contact the following:

Mr Dermot Harrigan
Telephone:  028 7137 6565

Mrs Vanessa Russell
Telephone:  028 7138 1333