Siege Museum was officially opened in March 2016 and is dedicated to commemorating the history of the Siege of Londonderry 1688-89 and the cultural heritage of the Associated Clubs of the Apprentice Boys of Derry. The museum contains three modern galleries and includes audio visuals, touchscreens, artefacts and scale models to enhance the visitor experience.
The mission of the Siege Museum is:
‘1. To restore and promote the permanent preservation, for the benefit of the public generally and especially the inhabitants of the city of Londonderry of a Memorial at the Royal Bastion, City Walls, Londonderry to the Late Reverend George Walker, joint Governor of the city of Londonderry during the siege of 1689 and/
2. To establish and maintain for the education and bTheenefit of the public generally and especially the inhabitants of the city of Londonderry interpretive or heritage centres within the City Walls of Londonderry to depict by display and chronicles, the attainments of the Scottish, English and French Protestant settlers and descendants in the City and County of Londonderry with a permanent feature on the events of 1688-1689 incorporating Reverend George Walker’s influence on the besieged and his subsequent national acclaim.
Contact – Billy Moore
Web - www.thesiegemuseum.org