Skip to main content

Local Community Plans

Local Community Plans

Community Planning is a process led by Derry City & Strabane District Council in conjunction with partners and communities to develop and implement a shared, long-term vision to improve the social, economic, and environmental well-being of the Derry City & Strabane District area. It will guide how our public services will work together locally to plan and deliver better services.

Derry City & Strabane District Council adopted a significant co-design process to develop the Strategic Growth Plan and the eight local plans for the Derry & Strabane District. This included engaging with statutory organisations, business, community and voluntary organisations and interested citizens to agree the way in which the plan should be developed. The local community growth plans will feed into the overarching Strategic Growth Plan and their key purpose will be to develop local actions to address local needs.

Eight Local Community Plans have been developed for Strabane Town and the 7 DEAs of Sperrin, Derg, Faughan, Waterside, Ballyarnett, Moor, Foyleside.

Local Growth Partnerships

Eight Local Growth Partnerships have been established across the eight District Electoral Areas (DEAs) and Strabane town. The Partnership includes representation from the community and statutory agencies and play a key role in shaping public service delivery in your area.

Through a process of engagement at neighbourhood level, the Partnerships worked to agree eight Local Growth Plans that are reflective of the needs and aspirations for residents and individuals at a local level and meet at least ten times a year to progress projects and initiatives linked to the Plans.

In 2023, the Local Growth Plans will be reviewed to measure how far we have come and update the plan for the future.

If you have any questions about your Local Growth Partnership, please send your query to [email protected]

The 8 local Community Planning Groups are:

Want to know more about what is happening in the council area?

Enter your email address and get them direct to your inbox